Player and Coach of the Year Awards

Many of the greatest players and coaches in the history of the National Football League have walked the stage at the 101 Awards.  Each year since 1969, the most outstanding offensive player, defensive player and coach of the year in both the AFC and NFC are chosen in a nationwide media vote.  The winner in each category is presented with the prestigious 101 trophy at the annual awards event in Kansas City.

Lamar Hunt Award for Professional Football


To honor the life and legacy of Lamar Hunt with a national award that symbolizes the impact he made in the development of professional football and personifies his personal attributes.


Awarded to an individual or group that has helped shape the National Football League into the preeminent professional sports league in America.

Criteria – 5 Primary Factors for Selection

Award Recipients:

2008 – The Foolish Club - original eight owners of the AFL

2009 – Tony Dungy - retired NFL head coach

2010 – Monday Night Football

2011 – NFL Films

2012 – Roger Staubach - retired star quarterback, Dallas Cowboys

2013 – Don Shula - retired NFL head coach

2014 –  Len Dawson - retired quarterback and broadcaster, Kansas City Chiefs

2015 – Paul Tagliabue - NFL Commissioner from 1989 to 2006

2016 – Super Bowl I

2017 – Al Michaels - broadcaster

2018 – Peyton Manning - retired star quarterback

2019 – Super Bowls III and IV